Don’t Miss “Cookin’ at the Cookery”

cookinlogo_web.jpg

By Ron Squeri, February 2008 guest blogger

Folks, if you haven’t been to MetroStage to see “Cookin’ at the Cookery”, make your reservations NOW. I saw it last night, and it rocked. It is a book-show about “The Music and Times of Alberta Hunter“. I am ashamed to say that I never recall listening to Ms. Hunter’s recordings, but I will start to soon. I will not ruin the show for you by giving you a synopsis, you can look at other reviews for that, but sagfe to say, it is a well-written, and admirably performed book show about this jazz singer’s life and career. It is also a study in what I believe is a beautiful melding of the cabaret experience and musical theatre.

I usually have a difficult time connecting with a jazz singer, partly due to my lack of understanding of the genre, and the jazz performer’s usual emphasis on style, and rhythm over lyric and storytelling. Both Jackie Richardson, and Janice Lorraine told excellent and compelling stories last night using the jazz idiom.

Again, this is a show not to be missed. It runs until March 9.

Leave a Reply

