Cabaret Is My Life (Part 4)

by Beverly Cosham, January 2008 Guest Blogger

I am writing what may be my penultimate offering for the blog. I hope to scribble something else before February 1st. I am currently having my second bout with the flu and hoping that it is the 24-hour version.

I spent my weekend attending three diverse musical events: harp soloist, musical revue, and a symphony with a bassoon soloist. It is amazing the amount of entertainment available in this area. The musical revue consisted of tunes from Broadway shows and is a good example of how, with an overall theme, to bring disparate material together.

ella.jpg  Interesting article in the Washington Post about theaters discovering that they can make money on “Bio” plays due to the lower overhead costs associated with one-person shows. This seems to be a perfect time for cabaret artists to submit their (completed and tested) revues to artistic directors in the area. H Street Playhouse has a cabaret offering coming up as does the Atlas. Does anyone know how to get in touch with retirement homes? That’s another venue.

ALSO: I will be performing with the McLean Symphony on Saturday, February 9, 2008 at 7:30 at the Alden Theatre in McLean, VA
February 23rd I will be performing at INDIGO

2 Responses to “Cabaret Is My Life (Part 4)”

  1. Jill Says:

    Hey, Bev: I volunteer weekly at Sunrise
    on Thomas Circle, a retirement community
    in the District. I did a reading of “Call Me
    Fatty” there a couple years back and found the
    residents quite receptive. They have a nice
    performance space, including a grand piano
    (and candelabra). A phone call, a few flyers…
    and I bet we could have a space plus a smart,
    discerning audience.

  2. Erica Says:

    Dear Beverly;

    I do hope you will feel better soon. I realize this post is old, so hopefully you do already. 🙂

    Can you or anyone else point me to the ultimate starting-point-everything-you-need-to-know-about-performing-cabaret website, book, video, masterclass or other?

    Do cabaret artists make a living with there music, or do it as an exposure, or mixture of both?

    Hope you can help! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

