Cabaret Is My Life

by Beverly Cosham, January 2008 guest blogger

Well, there is no way to start but to do it so here goes.

Let’s talk about cabaret – not the play or the film but the genre. First let me say that I have been a participant in this form of entertainment since I appeared in a revue, “Get Happy – The Music of Harold Arlen”, in 1979. Before that I was part of an eight person troupe, The Celebration Singers, and after performances with the troupe I would go to an after-hours club where I had the advantage of “on-the job” experience of creating my cabaret act. So with my Equity Cabaret Contract at the now defunct Hayloft Dinner Theatre I was introduced to the world of cabaret! Since then I have performed my cabaret act across the USA and have every intention of continuing until they drag my limp body from the stage! MORE later about the early days when there were more venues and opportunities for aspiring performers, etc.

Until then… Ciao, Beverly C.

Leave a Reply

